The South African Rock Encyclopedia
The South African Rock Encyclopedia | South African Rock Digest | | South African Music Mixes
Heart Killing Floor Waiting For The Dawn Horizon Going Down With Mr Green

Best Of The Decade Beyond The Blue Trancas Canyon Heart and Soul DVD Headlight Dreams


Big Sky - Trancas Canyon

Released in 2008 by Sony Music, catalogue number: CDSM276
Trancas Canyon
Trancas Canyon, 2008


  1. Bring The Night On
  2. John The Revelator
  3. Fade Away
  4. One Day
  5. Around Again
  6. Mona Lisa
  7. Pony Blues
  8. Back Again
  9. Come To Me
  10. The Wind Blows


  • Steve Louw: vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Blondie Chaplin: guitar, backing vocals
  • Pat Thrall: guitar
  • Rick Melick: keyboards
  • Anton Fig: drums
  • Keith Lentin: bass


Big Sky, fronted by singer-songwriter Steve Louw, are back with the launch of their fourth album, ‘Trancas Canyon’, at Die Boer in Durbanville on 24 and 25 April. The shows will be recorded and filmed for a future DVD release.

‘Trancas Canyon’ was recorded in a house in a canyon in Malibu, California, over three days. And that’s exactly what it sounds like — great songs played by a bunch of friends having a blast.

The warm, earthy-sounding album was produced by long-time collaborator Kevin “The Caveman” Shirley who has succeeded in placing Louw’s personal songs in the context of fine rock ‘n’ roll.

‘Trancas Canyon’ is an elegant addition to the band’s back catalogue of classic rock songs. At Die Boer they’ll play hits like ‘Waiting for the Dawn’, ‘One Cut With a Knife’ and ‘Mr Green’ in addition to selections from the new album.

Joining Louw on stage will be Willem Moller on guitar, Simon Orange on keyboards, Schalk Joubert on bass and Tim Rankin on drums.