South African Supergroup
formed in Johannesburg in 1979



  • Better The Devil You Know (1979) Nitty Gritty
    Springbok #4 in September 1979
  • The Man In My Shoes (1979) Nitty Gritty
  • Where Do We Go From Here (1980) Nitty Gritty
  • No Dice (1980) Nitty Gritty
  • Devotion (1981) Nitty Gritty


  • Stingray (1979) Nitty Gritty
  • Operation Stingray (1980) Nitty Gritty, NGC 1028
  • Best of Stingray (1981) Nitty Gritty

  • Forty Days soundtrack - Various Artists (1980) EMI


  • Danny Anthill: keyboards, flute
  • Dennis East: vocals
  • Mike Pilot: guitars
  • Shaun Wright: drums (replaced by Wally Cullis in 1981)
  • Allan Goldswain: keyboards, vocals (not on 'Operation Stingray')
  • Eddie Boyle: bass (replaced by Gerald "Jiggs" Downing in 1980)Eddie passed away on stage 19 June 2001


Shaun lost his leg in a shark attack in 1980 whilst surfing at Balito Bay. He carried on drumming, but was eventually replaced by Wally Cullis from Circus.

Eddie, Mike and Dennis had all been members of pop bubblegum outfit, The Rising Sons, who had a number of early 70s hits, including 'How Do You Do' and 'Going Down Jordan'.

'Better The Devil You Know' is a stunning pop metal anthem and reached #4 on the SA Radio charts.

from Chris McLaren's collection

South Africa's Rock Legends

South Africa's Rock Classics