The Blues Broers


  • Shake Like That [1990] cassette only
  • Damn Fine Mojo [1994] cassette only
  • Been Around [1995]
  • Sharp Street [1996]
  • Cellar Tapes (live) [1998]

Cover art:

Shake Like That Damn Fine Mojo Sharp Street Been Around Cellar Tapes


  • Dr John Mostert: vocals
  • Albert Frost: guitars
  • Rob Nagel: bass, harmonica
  • Frank Frost: drums (passed away 27 January 1999)
  • Simon Orange: keyboards

  • Dave Le Warne: drums (2000 onwards)


Visit the Blues Broers website at

Live Review:

28 January

A slightly coolish Kirstenbosch Gardens was the place to hear hot blues on Sunday afternoon. Starting promptly at 5.30pm and playing to a packed hillside of Capetonian picnickers, the Blues Broers entertained the crowd with a superb set of blues standards and original songs.

The band consisted of "Doctor" John Mostert on vocals, Albert Frost on stunning guitar, Rob Nagel on bass and amazing mouth organ, Simon "Agent" Orange on keyboards and journeyman musician Dave Le Warne on drums. After 3 or 4 encores we eventually let them go, leaving us well satisfied and shouting for more.

Capture the feeling on their live CD 'Cellar Tapes' recorded at the Hidden Cellar in Stellenbosch in December 1997. Well worth getting.
-- Brian Currin, SA Rock Digest, 28 January 2001

The Blues Broers

South Africa's Rock Legends | South African Rock Digest