McCully Workshop

album cover


  1. Genesis (T McCully) [7.45]
    1. Evolution
    2. Overture To Cancel Hate
    3. Survival And Genesis
  2. (We All) Look For The Sun * (T McCully) [3.15]
  3. Stone Man (T McCully) [9.44]
    1. Stone Man
    2. Degeneration
    3. Satan's Dance
  4. Red Light City (B Gordon/T McCully) [7.40]
    1. Sodom
    2. Gomorrah
  5. Sweet Fields Of Green * (T McCully) [3.45]
  6. Togetherness (T McCully) [4.35]
  7. Order Out Of Chaos (McCully Workshop) [3.20]

    Session tracks:
    Rainbow Illusion only released as a single
    Birds Flying High only released as b-side of 'Rainbow Illusion' single (see note below)
A concept album based on the book of Genesis from the Bible.


  • Mike McCully: Drums, vocals
  • Tully McCully: Vocals, bass
  • Bruce Gordon: Guitars, percussion, vocals
  • Ian Smith: Trumpet, flute, flugelhorn, trombone, percussion

Release information:

June 1971, Trutone, STO 745, unreleased on CD

* These tracks are available to buy as MP3 downloads from Rhythm Records.

Rhythm Records Online Music Store


Great progressive rock sound from this Cape Town band formed by the McCullagh brothers in 1969.

Original album supplied by Neil Daya from Vibes in N1 City, Cape Town.

Birds Flying High
Astral Daze The original version of 'Birds Flying High' is available on a Retrofresh CD compilation called 'Astral Daze - Psychedelic South African Rock 1968-1972'. This CD, released in January 2006, features 18 classic, rare and obscure tracks (16 of which have never previously been released on official CDs before). This compilation CD was compiled by Benjy Mudie and Brian Currin with major input from SA rock collector Tertius Louw.

TOP back to where you came from