Home Brew

Home Brew


  1. Winning (S Mabuse) (5:25)
  2. Madala (C Ndlovu/C Ziqubu) (4:56)
  3. Highlife (S Mabuse/C Ndlovu) (3:54)
  4. Playing for the People (S Mabuse/C Ziqubu/C Ndlovu) (5:22)
  5. Rocksteady (S Mabuse/C Ziqubu/C Ndlovu) (4:32)
  6. Run for Your Life (S Mabuse/C Ndlovu) (4:20)
  7. Don't Give Up (S Mabuse) (3:43)
  8. Soweto Dawn (S Mabuse) (5:37)

Produced by Sipho Mabuse & Greg Cutler (except 'Madala' by Sipho Mabuse, Greg Cutler & Condry Ziqubu)
Engineered by Greg Cutler (except 'Winning' by Keith Forsyth)
Arranged by Sipho Mabuse
Recorded R.P.M. Studios
Mixed at Satbel Recording Studios


  • Sipho "Hot Sticks" Mabuse: Drums, Flute, Piano (Soweto Dawn), Synthesizer, Percussion, Vocoder, Vocals, Timbales and Chimes, Fender Rhodes
  • Charles "Babas" Ndlovu: Piano, Fender Rhodes, Prophet V Bass synthesizer, Organ and Vocals
  • Thelma "Ndo" Segonah: Piano, Fender Rhodes, Prophet V Bass synthesizer, Organ and Vocals
  • Condry "Magic Fingers" Ziqubu: All Guitars and Vocals
  • Branny "Mzi" Ledwaba: Congas, Assorted Percussion, Shekere, Bells and Vibroslaps
  • Mzwandile "Zandi" Kente: Bass & Vocals
  • Isaac "Madala" Mofokeng: Vocals on 'Run for Your Life' & 'Rocksteady'
  • Lionel Petersen: Lead Vocals
  • Sipho "Master Blaster" Gumede: Bass on all tracks except 'Winning'
  • Jabu Sibumbe: Bass on 'Winning'
  • Khaya Mahlangu: All horns on 'Soweto Dawn'
  • Ray Chikapa: Guitar Solo on ' Winning'
  • Isaac "MCA" Mtshali: Drums on 'Winning'
  • Alistair Coakley: Guitar on 'Rocksteady'

Release information:

11 October 1982, Rufaro Records, ML 4636


All info supplied by John Samson, February 2001.

South Africa's Rock Classics

South Africa's Rock Legends